Meet our Team

Our Principal

Carrie Amon

Carrie Amon joined School in the Square as its first principal in preparation for the 2017-18 school year. She began her educational journey as a teacher in Bedford Stuyvesant and continued as a teacher in East Harlem. It was in East Harlem that Carrie was encouraged and inspired to venture into coaching and administration. Her first role as administrator was as the director of a small alternative school. Upon the closing of that program Carrie joined the Mamaroneck Public Schools, where she spent the 20 years as a teacher, staff developer, assistant principal and principal.

After retiring from New York State Education Department in June 2016, Carrie joined the Tuckahoe schools as an interim Principal of the Middle School. Carrie brings over 34 years of school experience to School in the Square. She is most excited about helping to create an environment where students are respected, given choice, and held to high expectations. Carrie is also a strong proponent of mindfulness in education and is excited to share that passion with the teachers and students ofSchool in the Square.

Carrie received both her Bachelor of Arts degree in elementary education and her Master’s in education from Brooklyn College. She attended Hunter College where she received an Advanced Certificate in Administration. Carrie’s love of children’s literature took her to Teacher’s College for multiple summers where she studied both reading and writing. Carrie is excited to be a part of a committed team of educators who think and learn together. She is committed to supporting the learning of both teachers and children.

Our Central Office

Evan Meyers

Executive Director

Cynthia Carrion

Job title

Rosemarie Cruz

Job title

Sierra Harris

Job title

Kaylin Herrera

Stephanie Hinkaty

Director of Development

Monica Merchant

Inocencia Olivo

Anny Rodriguez

Noel Torres